Coverart for item
The Resource The girl they left behind, by Roxanne Veletzos

The girl they left behind, by Roxanne Veletzos

Label
The girl they left behind
Title
The girl they left behind
Statement of responsibility
by Roxanne Veletzos
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
A sweeping historical romance that is "gripping, tragic, yet filled with passion and hope" (Kate Quinn, New York Times bestselling author), offering a vivid and unique portrayal of life in war-torn 1941 Bucharest during World War II and its aftermath--perfect for fans of Lilac Girls and Sarah's Key . On a freezing night in January 1941, a little Jewish girl is found on the steps of an apartment building in Bucharest. With Romania recently allied with the Nazis, the Jewish population is in grave danger so the girl is placed in an orphanage and eventually adopted by a wealthy childless couple who name her Natalia. As she assimilates into her new life, she all but forgets the parents who were forced to leave her behind. As a young woman in Soviet Romania, Natalia crosses paths with Victor--an important official in the Communist regime that she used to know as an impoverished young student. Now they are fatefully drawn into a passionate affair despite the obstacles swirling around them and Victor's dark secrets. When Natalia is suddenly offered a one-time chance at freedom, Victor is determined to help her escape, even if it means losing her. Natalia must make an agonizing decision: remain in Bucharest with her beloved adoptive parents and the man she has come to love, or seize the chance to finally live life on her own terms, and to confront the painful enigma of her past. The Girl They Left Behind "is a vividly told, beautifully written, impossible-but-true story" (Helen Bryan, internationally bestselling author of War Brides ) that you won't soon forget
Member of
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Veletzos, Roxanne
Dewey number
813/.6
Illustrations
illustrations
Index
no index present
Literary form
fiction
Series statement
Thorndike Press large print peer picks
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • World War (1939-1945)
  • Families
  • World War, 1939-1945
  • Hungary
  • Large type books
  • Families
  • Large type books
  • Social conditions
  • Hungary
  • Hungary
Label
The girl they left behind, by Roxanne Veletzos
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
on1057733988
Dimensions
23 cm.
Edition
Large print edition.
Extent
519 pages
Form of item
large print
Isbn
9781432861964
Lccn
2018049292
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Other physical details
illustrations
System control number
(OCoLC)1057733988
Label
The girl they left behind, by Roxanne Veletzos
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
on1057733988
Dimensions
23 cm.
Edition
Large print edition.
Extent
519 pages
Form of item
large print
Isbn
9781432861964
Lccn
2018049292
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Other physical details
illustrations
System control number
(OCoLC)1057733988

Library Locations

    • Mid-York Library SystemBorrow it
      1600 Lincoln Avenue, Utica, NY, 13502, US
      43.0941271 -75.2571873
Processing Feedback ...